Hall of Fame

Frank Smith

UBC's head football coach from 1974 through 1994. His teams won the Western Canadian title 5 times and the Vanier Cup twice, in 1982 and 1986. His teams won 8 of 12 Shrum Bowl Games and between 1985 and 1987 they won 22 consecutive games against Canadian competition - a UBC football record. He twice was named the Canadian university football Coach of the Year. He engineered the UBC football program from being an embarrassment to become to the toast of the country, a source of pride at UBC. He holds many UBC football records including most career victories, most seasons coached, most Vanier cups, most Hardy Cups and most Shrum Bowl victories.

Cal Murphy

QB and leader on the UBC Football team for just one year (1951) he was elected co-captain for 1952 but did not return to the team, instead coached high school football. Evolved to become a CFL legend as a coach, general manager and now scout. An inductee in the CFL Hall of Fame, one of only two ex-thunderbirds to be so honored.

Doug Mitchell

Played one year (1959) while taking law at UBC. Was on the Western Champion UBC team that played in the first East-West Canadian National University Football Championship. An all-star at UBC, Doug played in the CFL with the Lions in 1960. Among his many accomplishments was the fact that he served as CFL Commissioner from 1984 to 1989, was Chairman of the Shrum Bowl Committee in 1992, served as a member of The Thunderbird Society and of course helped finance the new Olympic Arena - the Doug Mitchell Arena - on campus.